Adventures in Hipster Heaven – Williamsburg

I’m a Bronx girl, which means I don’t make random treks to Brooklyn. While I’ve been forced by many a friend to make the trip out the Brooklyn, there are still swaths of the borough that I’m really unacquainted with. Like Williamsburg. I don’t go there. It’s off the L train, and I don’t like the L train. Because of that, I don’t know much of anything about how cool Williamsburg is, though I’ve always wanted to see for myself.

So this week, I found a legitimate reason to go to Williamsburg, to go on a tour of Brooklyn Breweries. The Brewery as a pretty cool history, and makes some pretty nice beers that you can find throughout the United States, Europe and even in South America. I bought tickets for a weekday tour and brought a friend, and had a really great time exploring this section of the city and learning more about beer.

Beautiful mural seen walking off of Bedford Avenue

Beautiful mural seen walking off of Bedford Avenue

Leaving from the Bronx, the trip only took about an hour. The L train was fine that day so I was happy. Getting off at Bedford Avenue, I arrived right at the heart of the action. The area has a lot of cute restaurants and snack shops, and a lot of young people milling about with cameras to take in the sights.

Street art

Street art

There was quite a bit of cool street art peppered through the neighborhood, which I loved.

Brooklyn Brewery itself is a short walk from the train stop, and right across the street from the famous Beacon’s Closet Thrift Shop. Since I’m broke as a joke, I didn’t make a stop in there, but it’s well known for having some pretty good clothes.

Beacon's Closet

Beacon’s Closet

Brooklyn Brewery

Brooklyn Brewery

The tour itself started at 5, so we waited in front of the building for a short while until things began. Things started with a taste testing of four beers, which were all really good. My favorite was the Cuvee La Boite, which a belgian style beer than tasted like heaven. The tour itself, it was great. Good guide and fun group.

Beer tour

Beer tour

All in all, making the trip out to the Brewery was a fun excuse to get to know a little bit about Williamsburg. It was a fun day out, and I’d recommend making the trip to the area or the Brewery itself if you get the chance!

And fun was had by all!

And fun was had by all!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

