Adventures in Cambodia – Part 1

Hey Fine Folks,

I just got back from a whopping ten days in Cambodia. That’s quite a long time, considering that going was a completely last minute decision on my part. I spent my time in three regions, Phnom Penh, Siem Reap and Battambang.

Me doing my best Angelina Jolie Cambodia Louis Vuitton Ad Impression (Boat from Siem Reap to Battambang)

So, I’ll start my posting with my time in Phnom Penh. It’s actually a really pretty, comfortable city to be in. They have a lot of really great boutique hotel options, and you can get a really nice hotel room with every normal amenity for under $40. Plus, tons of great French food options. My first meal was an amazing steak swallowed down with Merlot, and it only cost $10 bucks. But anyway, I only had a couple of days there, so what I did for my first full day was take a tuk-tuk tour. Basically, my guesthouse arranged for a tuk-tuk driver to take me around the city for a specific amount, which can vary from $15-20.

Phnom Penh by Tuk-Tuk

We made a stop at many of the major points of historical interest, such as the Killing Fields and S21 (which I’ll post about later). My driver also took me the Royal Palace, where I took the following photos.

Royal Palace

Me at the Royal Palace

Royal Palace

It got really hot after I went to the Royal Palace, so I finished up my tour and then went to eat some French food. I had a good day though. The next day, I took a Mekong Express bus to my next destination, Siem Reap. More to follow on that soon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Adventures in Cambodia – Part 1

  1. O says:

    Who did you get to aid in your photoshoot? Other than that, thanks for scenery shots. It’s like I’m actually there!

    • Marilyn says:

      Thanks O. I got this crazy Japanese girl to help. A second later, she was using her translater game boy thing to try and invite herself to stay with me for a night. Gotta be careful who you’re nice to sometimes.

Leave a Reply

