Update

Hey guys,  sorry, this is a no picture post. My camera is kind of on the fritz and I really just wanted to give you all a roundup of what I was up to.

So, I am in Phnom Penh, Cambodia right now! Just got here today. I’m staying in a mid-range business style hotel for the night because it was the only thing available, but it’s pretty nice. Has a tv and hot water, all I need. My first impressions of Phnom Penh: horrible traffic and really, really poor. Also, let’s not forget that Phnom Penh is pretty much one of the sex tourism capitals of the world. I saw this super young looking Cambodian girl, she looked like she was 16 but who knows, with this OLD white dude on the plane, and realized this probably the lightest of what I might be seeing. The plane ride was just filled with all of these dirty old single Western guys, and it was pretty obvious what most were making their trip to Phnom Penh for. I questioned coming to Phnom Penh, but I truly feel like being here and getting a glimpse of life here (for better or worse) is key to understanding South East Asia. So tomorrow, I’ve arranged for my trip to visit the killing fields, S21 and other places of historical importance here. It’s gonna be an interesting weekend.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Update

  1. Enjoy!!!! You’re in a place of this world that I’m DYING to visit!

  2. fefe1 says:

    How unfair for those girls! Poverty can be so cruel. I swear wars/violence end up placing the largest burdens on those who least deserve it (=future generations). Are you going to that giant temple (angkor wat)?

    • Marilyn says:

      Yep, even woke up super early to see the sunrise there. To be honest, I wasn’t really so gaga over Angkor Wat, but I’m glad I went. There are other temples that have cooler features/are in better condition, so I actually enjoyed some of the other temples more.

  3. O says:

    I’m still totally creeped out by the sex tourism trade. I don’t know why you’d fly half way across the world to have to pay even more money to have sex with someone. Well either way, it seems as though you’re exposing yourself to all aspects of the world that many travelers try and shy away from.

    • Marilyn says:

      You know, I don’t know why people do that either. But I guess people want to do stuff they know they can’t get away with in their own countries. Sick though.

Leave a Reply

