Playing with some elephants

Hey folks, I’m in Thailand now! As per my initial plans for my trip, I would be making my way from Singapore into Malaysia right now, but I changed my mind and decided to go to Chiang Mai, Thailand for a quick trip. One of the places I went while in Chiang Mai was called the Elephant Nature Park.

This is a conservation center founded to create a home for mistreated and injured elephants.  I hadn’t actually planned on going to the conservation center during my trip, but I had heard a lot of great things about the organization on various travel blogs during my planning stage and happened upon a location selling tickets for a tour while wandering around Chiang Mai.

And folks, it was wonderful. There aren’t really too many words to describe, so just look at all the photos.

Her name was Mae Kham Geag

The one I'm touching is the blind one. She was in her seventies, but still fabulous.

A lovely elephant family.

The center does such good work. What separates it from other elephant places is the fact that these elephants are allowed to just be. They’re not show animals, and all tourist activities are meant to generate funds so the elephants could continue to get the care and love they need. My favorite was the blind elephant, and the way she was nurtured and cared for made me want to be a better person. Elephant Nature Park is well worth a visit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Playing with some elephants

  1. O says:

    Man I wish I were there right now. I love me some elephants. Ah well, it looks like you had lots of fun.

  2. fefe1 says:

    i can these elephants are senior citizens! have you seen this (about an elephant in a sanctuary in the US)? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cBtFTF2ii7U

  3. Maniels says:

    It looks nice and warm there. I want to bathe an elephant!

Leave a Reply

